Components of a pianola

A concise description of the essential components will give you an idea about the construction of the instrument. A more detailed description of the individual components is given in the other categories on this website. There are basically five components of a pianola, whether upright or grand piano:

Components of a pianola in detail

the acoustic system (Iron frame, soundboard, stringing incl. tuning peg, tuning pin)
the action and the keyboard
the case
the upper installation (elements above the keyboard, often: wind chest etc.)
the lower installation (elements below the keyboard, often: accentuation etc.)

Condition of a pianola

Only the acoustic system, the action, the keyboard and the self-playing mechanism are relevant for the purposes of playability, sound or the self-playing function when examining the condition. When considering the current value of the instrument and any restoration costs, include the condition of the case as well.

Please, find a detailed description of points 1 -3 (piano without self-playing mechanism) on my website www.faszinationklaviere.de, including sample pictures. Here you will find, in addition, a description of the parts that are relevant for the self-playing mechanism. An initial orientation may be provided by this concise overview on the construction of a pianola:

Pictures of pianola components

Components of a pianola pictures

1 tracker bar (scale)
2 air-powered motor
3 wind chests (contains the bellows)
4 pedal system (for pedal instruments, to create suction )
5 bellow system (for reproducing instruments, to create suction)
6 player and accentuation controls (for reproducing instruments)
7 electric motor
8 operating levers to control tempo, accentuation, dynamism
9 track control (correct winding of the piano roll)

Um sich ein wenig vertraut zu machen mit dem Aufbau des Instrumentes, erfolgt hier eine kurze Beschreibung der wesentlichen Elemente. Eine detailliertere Beschreibung der einzelnen Elemente erfolgt in den anderen Kategorien auf dieser Seite. Es gibt im Wesentlichen fünf Elemente bei einem Pianola Klavier oder Flügel:

die Akustische Anlage
(Gussrahmen, Resonanzboden, Besaitung inkl. Stimmwirbel, Stimmstock)
das Spielwerk bzw. die Mechanik und die Klaviatur
den Korpus
den Obereinbau (Elemente oberhalb der Klaviatur, oft: Windlade etc)
den Untereinbau (Elemente unterhalb der Klaviatur, oft: Betonung etc.)

Für die Zustandbetrachtung sind im Sinne der Spielbarkeit, des Klanges sowie der Selbstspielfunktion nur die Akustische Anlage, das Spielwerk, die Klaviatur und der Selbstspielmechanismus relevant. Bei der Gesamtbetrachtung des Zeitwertes des Instrumentes sowie etwaiger Restaurationskosten kommt zusätzlich der Zustand des Korpus in Betracht.

Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Punkte 1.-3. (Klavier ohne Selbstspielmechanismus) können Sie auf meiner Internetseite www.faszinationklaviere.de mit Beispielbildern nachlesen. Hier finden Sie zusätzlich eine Beschreibung der für den Selbstspielmechanismus relevanten Teile. Für eine erste Einordnung hier ein kurzer Überblick zum Aufbau eines Pianolas:

1 Notengleitblock (Skala)
2 Windmotor
3 Windlade (enthält die Spielbälge)
4 Pedalanlage (zur Sauglufterzeugung bei Tretinstrumenten)
5 Gebläseanlage (zur Sauglufterzeugung bei Reproduktionsinstrumenten)
6 Betonungs- und Dynamiksteuerung (bei Reproduktionsinstrumenten)
7 Elektrischer Motor
8 Bedienhebel zur Steuerung von Tempo, Betonung, Dynamik
9 Spurkontrolle/-steuerung (korrekter Lauf der Notenrolle)